Despite the various options available, many users still don’t understand the importance of backing up and protecting their data. Taking a backup of your data is very critical. Choosing the right backup option comes next. Around every 1 in 3 people have faced the regret and realization after their important data is lost. Computers aren’t the only things to dace data loss. With huge amounts of storage, people are also storing data on their phones and tablets. Photos, personal health records and financial information are among the few things that are critical data and many realize that these kinds of files should be regularly backed up. Backup options are various. It is quite possible that your preferred mode of backup might need its own backup too.
SYNC VERSUS BACKUP
Many users prefer using cloud-based storage services that allow file access to them from any location. This service is called syncing. It creates a copy of your file that can be accessed by you elsewhere. It is a two-way approach to backup. Just like the original file can be copied during the syncing process, it can also be overwritten and lost. A one-way storage option at least ensures that you have a solid, existing copy and an unchanged version of all your files. You can enjoy the options of syncing while also ensuring that your backup is also backed up. It is better to err with having a backup too many times than too few.
BACKUPS WITH AN EXPIRATION DATE
People assume that once their data is backed up, its totally safe. That isnt totally true. Android and Dropbox are amongst few companies that have admitted to wiping user’s backup files. Accounts are automatically deleted after a period of inactivity. In a new Android update, as little as two week’s inactivity can result in the wiping off your data from Google Drive. Americans spend around 5 hours everyday on their phone which makes 2 weeks of smartphone activity look simply impossible. The user never imagined the possibility where he spent a couple of weeks comparing which new phone to purchase while using an older iPhone.
Dropbox too, deletes files after a brief period of inactivity. Although people mostly rely on Dropbox to store their files that they do not require so often, but also don’t want to delete, your data isnt permanently stored there. Dropbox gives users about 12 months before their accounts can be considered inactive. Users are sent an email before backups in Dropbox are deleted.